Zap Away!

Dear Family & Friends,

It’s been a while since my previous post, but wanted to let you know what’s been happening with my treatments since my last chemo.  These last few weeks of summer have been super busy. September always marks the reversion back to normalcy….and it also means that a lot of our friends & family leave Toronto! It’s always hard to say goodbye to good friends, to the “kids” we have seen grow up before our eyes & are now heading to university & college, to family visiting…etc. We miss you guys already! But Thanks for a great summer!

We know you will continue to support & pray for us, even though you might not physically be here in Toronto. So, we want to thank you as we go through this transition period in our lives –> from single people to a married couple living in an 800 square foot condo with no furniture in the living room…haha..well, we do have a makeshift couch (aka a spare mattress), a coffee table that belongs to a friend, and our new  tv courtesy of our lovely friends (THANKS!)

I’ve also been enjoying  grocery shopping, cooking dinner (I’ll post up some pictures of my first attempts at cooking for a husband), and vaccuming. See, it’s one thing to cook for yourself in school… when anything will do and you don’t have to worry about someone else’s preference for food or poisoning them with your inedible cooking. On the other hand, cooking for a husband or family, there are things to consider like what the other person’s most hated food or favourite food is, if there’s a coupon or a sale for a specific food at the grocery store, if the food can be kept for several days in the fridge or freezer (so I don’t have to cook EVERY meal), making sure that everyone’s full & not hungry, etc…Let’s just say, I have a lot of learning to do! And what better people to learn it from than my mom and my grandma(s)!  Growing up, I have been incredibly blessed to have  breakfast, lunch, and dinner cooked, prepared or packed for me. Out of all the foods I have to learn to make, I think the recipes I’m more clueless about are the Chinese soups & other Chinese dishes.  

Now, back to the treatments. So, last week… we met up with Dr. Kuravilla & Dr. Villa and they have concluded that the tumour is small enough that I don’t need to have anymore chemo treatments! That was welcoming news, since my body is going to take some time to clear itself of the already existing poisons accumulated there in the last 6 rounds of chemo. On Wednesday, I was referred to Dr. Tsang, a radiation oncologist who will be overseeing and planning my radiation treatments.

The CT Simulator & Radiation planning was done on the same day, and I’m scheduled for my first radiation treatment this afternoon at PMH. For the planning, it was pretty cool… they put tattoo dots on the front and side of my body so that the radiation technician can precisely align the rays to the localized tumour spots. The whole radiation treatment will consist of 20 round, everyday (Mon.-Fri.) for 4 weeks. We’re so excited to know that we see the end of the tunnel! God is good!

Reading the Bible this morning, this verse really stuck out at me

Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth. This then is how we know that we belong to the truth, and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence whenever our hearts condemn us. For God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything.     – 1 John 3:18-20

I was listening to a song by Chris Tomlin and looking for some new music, when I came across a song called “Love” from his album, “Hello, Love”. The words were very powerful & similar to this verse today. I hope the words also resonate with you.

When our hope is hard to find
And our faith is in decline
We need a cause to stand behind – love
We all want the way it feels
Time it comes and time it steals
What remains, what is real – love

[Chorus:]
There is love
There is forgiveness
There is love in times of need
When life is cold there is a promise
You will never go without…
There is love

It heals the sick
Comforts the weak
Breaks the proud
Raises the meek
In this life no guarantees…

Love is the answer
Love will find a way
When we love one another
It’s a brighter day

O-kwa-ga-la-kwe,
Ku-singa-byoo-na,
Bwe-twa-ga-la-na-o-lu-na-ku-lu-suu-fu

After listening to the song, I was interested in  the Watoto Children’s Choir that sings with Chris Tomlin in the background. After doing a little research, I found that these were orphaned children from Uganda, who have experienced a lot of suffering in their childhood and have been given hope through the Watoto Missions. The Mission provides for the physical, emotional and spiritual needs for the children so that they can become future leaders of their country.  Here’s a short documentary about them.

Prayer Items

  • We have  a couple of close friends & family who are going through difficult times right now. If you have time, please say a short prayer them (don’t worry about not knowing their names, God knows!) and that we can be a good support for them!
  • for successful radiation treatments. Praise God for no more chemo treatments & that it did it’s job!
  • adjustments & patience for myself, for Ike & for my parents since I no longer live with them.
  • my grandpa’s hip & his discharge from the rehabilitation centre

Cheers 🙂

-Vinci

One response to “Zap Away!

  1. hey funce!! long time no talk!
    i know this update was from awhile ago!
    but PRAISE GOD for the welcoming news 🙂

    how is radiation going? everything else?
    have you guys set a date from your trip for december? 🙂

    miss you lots and still praying for you and ike always!

Leave a Reply

