Ring, Ring, Ring! – 6th Chemo is Done!

(I meant to post this entry a little earlier..but it’s been a week and a bit… whoops! sorry!)

Dear Friends & Family,

After a busy yet ABSOLUTELY FUN wedding weekend, our wonderful wedding party sent us to a really relaxing & wonderful  two and a half day mini-honeymoon at the White Oaks Resort & Spa in Niagara on the Lake.  The food at the resort’s restaurant (LIV) was scrumptious to say the least! We ate a wonderful dinner on our first night there and had brunches there in the next 2 days. WOW! Is all I can say… local fresh produce created by a masterchef.

So, without further ado, here’s some pictures of the happiest day of my life so far! Praise God, it was perfect: the weather, the temperature…everything went so amazingly smooth & well. We couldn’t have planned it better ourselves! Thanks to all our friends and family for all your help in preparation for the day. We couldn’t have done it without you guys. We had a LOT of fun & we hope those you guys did too.  As well, thanks for helping us raise money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Association of Canada ($600- to be exact), for LiveStrong and for World Vision Canada through our wedding. We’re extremely grateful 🙂 This money will definitely be helpful to someone in need!

After our mini-moon in Niagara, both Ike & I were prepared for the last round of chemo on the Wednesday afterwards. The 6th round was full of anticipation, of relief, and also of uncertainty. Anticipation always happens before chemo… but of course, I had my AWESOME support system : FRIENDS & FAMILY! Prayers & a GAGA surprise made it a lot easier 🙂 Alice my RN is always so good about it too!  She got the vein on the first try 🙂 Relief is in knowing that the 6th chemo is possibly the last one. I got to ring the bell before I left ! Uncertainty is in thinking… what comes next? Did the chemo get rid of all the bad cancer cells? Will I need round 7 & 8? Will it come back? 

Thanks Girls for the Gaga Surprise 🙂 No need for a video this time haha...you guys are here!

I had my CT Scan yesterday (August 23rd) as a follow-up to the 6th chemo and for the doctors to see what’s next. I have been having a pretty sleepless week last week in anticipation of this scan. It’s one of those: “I want to know… I don’t want to know..” type of mentalities that have kept me up at night (well… and the adjusting to sharing a bed with a husband 🙂 and the chemo drugs haha…) I’ll know the results by next Monday- I’m definitely nervous….please pray that I’ll keep relying on God’s plan for me, that I’ll be at peace & know that God is still in control.

As well… another exciting thing is that I’ve started moving in to Ike’s apartment since Friday (after my last Neupogen injection). It gives me something to do while I’m recuperating: home improvement/home organization! I’ve never lived in a condo and it wasn’t long before I realized how much work is needed in maximizing the use of a small space. It’s also a challenge to “adult-ify” a bachelor pad… ahah…

Today’s scripture reading & “daily bread” devotion (you can find this at http://odb.org/ ) was very appropriate & applicable. God’s Word Always & Continues to be a source of comfort & hope for me 🙂

4

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:4-7

11I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13I can do everything through him who gives me strength. – Philippians 4:11-13

Cheers & Much Love,

Vinci

2 responses to “Ring, Ring, Ring! – 6th Chemo is Done!

  1. I’m so happy that you and Ike enjoyed your wedding and honeymoon! The wedding was so breathtaking and touching!! Don’t lose faith and your wonderful spirit, Funce… it’s all in God’s hands and He will take care of every detail. I love you lots! Hopefully see you soon… new home planning/shopping together some time? :3

  2. Hi Vinci & Isaac,
    I am glad to have been at your wedding and so glad to get to know you. My prayers are with you everyday. As promised, next year at the Susan G Komen 5K in Las Vegas, I will wear your name on my bib.
    God bless,
    Toni Turner

Leave a comment