5 days to wedding! 9 days to chemo!

Hello dear readers,

With all of Ike & my family & friends flying to Toronto within the last several weeks… it’s finally starting to hit me… we’re getting married… in less than a week 🙂 It’s pretty surreal knowing that it’s my last weekend as a single person. I’m so happy & excited that we are getting married and that we decided not to cancel the wedding, but to celebrate despite my health over the last several months.

We have clearly seen how God’s hands have been with us as our wedding day approaches. He has provided us with many wonderful friends who have helped make all the planning less hectic. He has been a part in the big & the small things that need to be done… and believe me, there’s ALWAYS things to be done for weddings…the list just seems to never end! Somehow though, they get done… 🙂

Today, we went to Emily & Jeff’s wedding (congrats!). It was a nice ceremony with friends and family! All that meticulous planning…for one day! It’s a lot to do, but I could tell from Emily & Jeff’s smiling faces that it was all worth it 🙂 I KNOW I’m going to be a crying mess on Saturday when it’s our turn at the altar… I know there will be a lot of smiles, a lot of tears, and a lot of laughter! (and of course, DANCING!) but…. as Jimmy V says in his 1993 ESPY Speech…

To me, there are three things we all should do every day. We should do this every day of our lives. Number one is laugh. You should laugh every day. Number two is think. You should spend some time in thought. And number three is, you should have your emotions moved to tears, could be happiness or joy. But think about it. If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that’s a full day. That’s a heck of a day. You do that seven days a week, you’re going to have something special.

I pray that all of you will experience and appreciate all of God’s Blessings in your lives too 🙂 Sometimes, if we step back…relax.. and Count Our Blessings…it really puts things into perspective.

In terms of treatments & my health, last Friday I went to PMH for a routine bloodwork prior to a scheduled chemo. Dr. Fung put in an order for blood too…and they ended up taking 8 tubes of blood (better than 11!) Because of the wedding, the 6th (and hopefully final!) chemo will be scheduled for August 11th– the Wednesday after our wedding. I will be Mrs. Ling going into my chemo this time 🙂

 My Ultrasound for Dr. Fung also came back and all my “innards” looks good & normal 🙂 Praise God! And…..the dreaded mouthsore near my wisdom tooth that made me look slightly like a lopsided chipmunk 2 weeks ago…has gone away. Hooray!

So… bring it on! Wedding & Round 6 Chemo! 

 And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them. For God knew his people in advance, and he chose them to become like his Son, so that his Son would be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.

– Romans 8:27-29 (New Living Translation)

Cheers,

Vinci

One response to “5 days to wedding! 9 days to chemo!

  1. ahhhh, so exciting! it will be so ridiculously AWE-SOME. and yay for no more mouth sore! lurve you, almost mrs. ling!!! ahh!

Leave a Reply

